Our BVT New Works Initiative continues on line this summer with four readings of new plays — a new one each week–recorded in zoom format by some of your favorite BVT artists and viewable at home.

Streaming begins July 31 at 7:00 p.m. Eastern

The Wheel Woman by Vincent Delaney.   It’s 1894. Young Annie Londonderry takes on a wager to become the first woman to bicycle solo around the globe–and sets off a firestorm in the women’s movement. THE WHEEL WOMAN is a heartfelt comedy that tells the true story of this complex early feminist icon– part hero, part fraud–who pushed every possible Victorian boundary to achieve her goal. Claire Leyden leads a cast of remarkable women (Laura King Otazo, Pam Feicht, Maria Clements, Maura Lefevre). Kate Reynolds directs. This event will go live at 7 p.m. EST on July 31 and the link will remain live for one month. 

This online event is included in the BVT at Home subscription for BVT’s 2020 summer subscribers and ticket holders (information and a promotional code will be emailed a few days before the premiere performance). A pre recorded talk back with the director and playwright will follow many performances. Others may purchase tickets for $18 through our partner, Broadway on Demand ShowShare. For a how-to video on how to access this play on Broadway on Demand click here.


Playwright Vincent Delaney’s plays have been produced, commissioned and developed at the Guthrie, Humana Festival, Florida Studio Theatre, LAByrinth, New Harmony Project, Alabama Shakes,  the Magic, Woolly Mammoth, Shakespeare and Company, Pittsburgh Public, InterAct, the Lark, PlayLabs, and Orlando Shakespeare Festival, among others.  LAS CRUCES won the New Play Award from Premiere Stages.  THE SEQUENCE has been produced around the country and as far away as Japan, Canada, and the U.K. 99 LAYOFFS was produced in Seattle and Amsterdam; the script was a nominee for the ATCA Steinberg Award.  Other awards include McKnight and Bush Fellowships, Core Membership at the Playwrights Center, the Heideman, the Reva Shiner Comedy Award, and a Jerome Commission.